As a community-owned utility company, powering a better education and investing in the future of our youth is important to the Kerrville Public Utility Board (KPUB). For 10 years now, KPUB has awarded two scholarships to deserving seniors in our service area to help make their college dreams a reality. 


  • Two (2) $1,500 per year renewable scholarships for a total of up to $6,000 overall

Eligible students may receive $1,500 per year for up to four years

  • One (1) $1,000 one-time scholarship

Eligible students may receive a $1,000 one-time scholarship that is exclusively for accredited trade school or technical students

Applicants must be graduating high school seniors who are enrolling for the first time in a full-time course of study at an accredited technical school, trade school, private or public college or university in the state of Texas. The recipients are chosen by a scholarship selection committee who rate the applications on the following criteria: academic achievement, economic need, participation in school activities, community involvement and a short essay.

KPUB’s 2022 scholarship applications are now open! Click here for the program criteria and here for the application.

All applications must be received by Friday, February 25, 2022, to be eligible for consideration.

KPUB is pleased to announce its 2021 scholarship recipients are two Tivy High School seniors, Cithlali Prado and Savannah Rendon.

Cithlali has been accepted to Baylor University in Waco, Texas, and Savannah has been accepted to Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas.

Photo cutline: KPUB Board of Trustees present KPUB scholarships to their 2021 recipients.
L to R: Mayor Bill Blackburn, Savannah Rendon (Tivy High School), Cithlali Prado (Tivy High School) and KPUB Board of Trustees Chair, Bill Thomas.